Difference between Public 'Sub' and Function' (1 Viewer)

muppetgeoff

Local time
Today, 06:28
Hi All,

Please forgive me if this is a stupid question, I am new to VBA.

I was just wondering if someone could explain simply, the difference between a Public 'Function' and a Public 'Sub'.

Specifically, when the use of each is recommended, and how they differ from each other.

The only difference I can see, is how they handle the passing of results in and out of the process.

Subs seem to hand back a result, as long as the variable referenced is the same as the one that contains the result of the sub.

Functions seem to require you to hand back the result as a variable.

Am I way off on that observation?

The main reason for asking, is that I modified a 'Public Function' written by a user here, changed it to a 'Public Sub' and changed a lot of the methodology. As a 'Function' it didn't seem to work properly, but as a 'Sub' it did.

So I'm curious as to the actual difference.

Many thanks in advance,

Geoff

Mile-O

Back once again...
Local time
Simply put, a Sub performs an operation, a function returns a value.

Mile-O

Back once again...
Local time
muppetgeoff said:
Subs seem to hand back a result, as long as the variable referenced is the same as the one that contains the result of the sub.

Functions seem to require you to hand back the result as a variable.

Subs don't hand back any result - they just perform the lines of code between Public Sub and End Sub.

Functions return a value as the name of the function.

muppetgeoff

Local time
Hi Mile-o-Phile :)

Many thanks for your quick, short-but-sweet reply.

The code that I mentioned was your Limit Characters Typed In A Control function.

Your original version was a Function, and after following a (very simple) code example on support.microsoft.com, I changed it to a Sub.

Is there any benefit in using one over the other? or does it simply depend what you want to do?