Double click event on a label? (1 Viewer)

George J

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 03:37
I am not sure if this is possible to do, but my dirty workaround would be to have a transparent textbox over the label.

Is this how others would do it, or is there something else I should be looking at?

many thanks
G

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Yesterday, 21:37
I really want to ridicule you, but I'm confused that I maybe I'm missing something--I'm able to put a double click event on Labels. What exact issue are you having doing so?

George J

Registered User.
Local time
Please ridicule away - I was surprised that I couldn't do it too, though I've never tried before.

On the form, I have textboxes and their labels. I want to be able to doubleclick the label (kind of a user prompt but don't want to use controltip) and a message pops up with an example of what to enter into the textbox.

When I select the label however, the Data and Event tabs of the property sheet are blank - totally empty. I tried to detach the label from the textbox to see if that made a difference, but it was still blank.

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
No ridicule--I thought you posted without trying (find that a lot on this forum). Sounds like you tried and the option wasn't available.

I don't know what to tell you. I am using 2010 and it allows me to add a double click event to a label. Perhaps you can make a button and style it as a label.

George J

Registered User.
Local time
Looks like I can have events with a plain label, but one that is joined to or has been disconnected from a textbox can't.

Surely that can't be right!!
Need to investigate this. Going into pedantic mode now.

Thanks for taking a look at this plog.

EDIT:
Another messy fix, but not quite as bad as my original idea.
Select all labels on the form (not the textboxes) then copy & paste.
Move labels so they partially overlay the originals
Press CTRL and select topmost original label then align to right and top.