Export Access Query to Excel including Conditional Formatting (1 Viewer)

blime

Local time
Today, 17:37
I am new to Access, so please forgive me if this has been asked before. I have carried out a search on the site but could not find a clear answer.

I would like to export a datasheet form to Excel including conditional formatting.

- I have a query with several lookup tables.
- A form is based on the query with a datasheet view only.
- I have set up conditional formatting where a field changes color in certain cells based on the selected from the pick list.

I would like the user to export this via a button to a spreadsheet. I have tried this, but the exported data in the spreadsheet does not include conditional formatting or the data type.

Would be grateful for advice on how I do this.

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 08:37
Well, export won't carry over CF. Will have to independently code the Excel sheet with conditional formatting.

Excel doesn't really have 'data types'. Cells can be formatted for preferred display structure but they can hold anything regardless of format or whatever is in other cells of same column.

Review http://accessmvp.com/KDSnell/EXCEL_MainPage.htm

GPGeorge

Grover Park George
Local time
Today, 09:37
Long story short, any conditional formatting in Excel will have to be added in Excel, or by using Excel automation in the Access function which creates the export.

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
You could use an Excel template with the CF set in that, but regardless, it has to be created again.

blime

Local time
Long story short, any conditional formatting in Excel will have to be added in Excel, or by using Excel automation in the Access function which creates the export.

How do I use Excel automation in the Access function?

blime

Local time
If you are asking that, then a template might be a better option?