Filtering a Form by way of a combo box on another form (1 Viewer)

mjanalyst

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:30
Good Afternoon. I am new to Microsoft access and have only been using it for little over a year. I am using Access 2010 to create a database for work.

I am looking for help in coding. I would like to select a choice of a company in a combo box on one form and in turn it will filter another form upon it loading as per that selected company. Please feel free to give me any suggestion on how to best do this and what code I should use. Thanks for all your help.

MJ

mjanalyst

Registered User.
Local time
Paul. Thanks for the help. I followed the instructions and liked the suggestion a lot, but it didnt work. The 2nd form wouldn't show any records and is asking me for my parameters. Here is my code bellow.

DoCmd.OpenForm "Testing", , , "ESCO_Name = '" & Me.Combo19 & "'"

Form 1 that I am selecting the choice from in the combo box has a different data source then form 2's. They do both share the same column "ESCO Name" which row source is the same query. I hope that makes sense and I am wondering if my problem is both forms having different data sources even though the column I am trying to filter from is the same query. Thank you great for your help.

MJ

pr2-eugin

Super Moderator
Local time
Today, 10:30
MJ, could you please be a bit more specific? when you say it is not working, do you mean you are getting an error or, is it not returning any result?
Check these..
* If you are getting any error, what is the error that you are facing?
* Are you sure that the return from the Combo19 is a Text (as you have surrounded it with single quotes)?
* As per Paul's advice, make sure the second Form you are trying to open has a FieldName as 'ESCO_Name'.

mjanalyst

Registered User.
Local time
pr2-eugin,

Thank for the response. I made sure that the field name is matching. I am not receiving any errors. Here are the steps I take and what happens.