good alternatives to Access (1 Viewer)

jonobugs

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 01:18
Perhaps this is the wrong forum for posting this, so I apologize in advance if that's the case.

I'm a novice Access user (for a few years now) and I'm wondering if there is a better alternative database program for what I have in mind.

I'm actually very happy with how easy Access has been for to get me up and going. I've been able to create tables, menus, reports, forms, etc. with only a minimum of headaches.

I'm in a VERY small company with no budget for software. I started using Access because we have a copy of Office which included Access. The problem is that it doesn't seem to network well.

We don't have sharepoint, and I'm not even sure how to use it if we did. I tried networking it, but we had to make sure only one person was using it at a time or conflicting database errors occurred.

Also, I would like to be able to work with it at home, so I tried putting it on drobbox or onedrive. It seemed to work, but it would be nice to be able to have a colleague use it who doesn't have a copy of access and would like to edit or send files with his smartphone. (he doesn't have a computer). The last problem is not really that important if it can't be done though.

I've heard about other programs out there such as MYSQL, but my knowledge is very limited and I really don't want to spend a lot of time learning a new program if it turns out not to be a good solution.

Any suggestions?

Cheers!

sneuberg

AWF VIP
Local time
I'd check out WordPress. You can get a Web site with it for only a few dollars a month albeit you may have to sign up for a while. In my case three years.

WordPress may not do everything you need even with extensions but you can always extend the Web site yourself with the underlying MYSQL database and PHP. The downside is the time it will take you to learn PHP and MYSQL and the time it takes to develop with it. You will really miss Access.

plog