Inventory Database needed for School District...please help! (1 Viewer)

Tech_Girl

Local time
Today, 04:25
I am trying to design a database that will allow me to keep up with all of the teachers in our school district and their administrative computer and printer. It has taken me nearly a year to collect all of this data into 36 separate excel spreadsheets and now I want to compile all of it into an Access Database. I have read your site, tutorials, and books…and well….I am wayyy past frustrated....i am fairly new to Access..... Not sure which way to go…..so I decided to start small and ask for help.

I have 36 schools and 1500+ teachers....

Here is what a typical Excel spreadsheet would look like... these are the column headings....

Unique School Number
School Name
Room #
First Name
Last Name
PC Model
Dell S/N
Asset Tag
Warranty Expiration Date of Computer
Printer
Printer Model

So far….i have this

School table……SchoolID (does this have to be an autonumber or can it be the unique school ID number that our district uses?) and School Name

Teacher table....TeacherID (autonumber),First and last name, room number, and SchoolID

At this point, it all gets fuzzy. What I would like to be able to do is enter the asset information on a form into an Asset Table. I found a template and tried to modify it…but ran into problems.

It suggested a….

Category table……Category ID…..2 items….Computer and Printer

Asset Table
AssetID
SchoolID
EmployeeID
CategoryID
Computer Model-----this would always be Dell
Model Number---this will vary…..we have about 8 to 10 different models in our district at this time
Dell S/N
District Asset Tag#
Warranty Expiration of Computer….there would be no warranty expiration for the printer

I think that the ASSET Table…would be my main one…..i would like a form to enter this data into…..