Loop through many fields in a table to create a new field (1 Viewer)

melfaram

Local time
Yesterday, 22:35
I would like to thank you for your help in advance. I have a table called sheet1. It has a field for ID (PID), and many fields for scores assigned by evaluators (text not number) The fields have the same first part (Rev) and a numbers appended to them : Rev1, Rev2, etc. I want to loop through all the fields that have the scores and change them from string to number and then use them to create a new field called total that has the total numbers of values< 4 across the fields. The ID field should not be in the loop.. I have never used loops before. Therefore, I will be very grateful if you let me know 1) how to exclude the ID field from the loop and include the fields I want only and 2) what should I do to end up with the results I want.
Thanks again

What I have
Table: Sheet1
Fields: PID, Rev1, Rev2, Rev3, Rev4 ---------------- Rev30

Current table:
PIDRev1Rev2Rev3Rev4Rev30
11235----
24455----
34565---
What I want
PIDRev1Rev2Rev3Rev4Rev30Total (values < 4)
11235---0
24455---2
34445----3

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 13:35
what you are doing is not Normal to database.

you should have a "simple" table:

PID (number)
Rev (number)

everytime there is revision, you add Record with same PID but increasing Rev number.

Melfaramawi

Local time
Today, 00:35
I am sorry if my question was not clear. I do not create tables or add new records to them. I get excel sheets and I import them in access. I am looking for a Vba code to loop through the records across the fields.

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:35
I am sorry if my question was not clear.

Your question is very clear! The difficulty you are facing is because of the arrangement of the data. You need to transpose the data into two columns as suggested by ArnelGP.

The why and the how are explained in my blog here:-