Many-to-Many Relationships (1 Viewer)

H

hicksjt

I am new to database design and curious about relationships. In a hypothetical situation, if I have four tables: tblProducts, tblOrders, tblEmployees, and tblCustomers, how could the relationship be set up?

The Products are stored to keep track of the quantity on hand and the employees will also need to be tracked as to how many products they sell. Customers are recorded and Orders wrap up all three tables with the fields: OrderID, ProductID, EmployeeID, and CustomerID.

Would it make sense to say that many products can be bought by many customers and/or many employees can place many orders.

FoFa

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:33
Yes.
Also Many employees can place many orders for one customer?
And many customers can place many orders?
But can Many employees place the same order for many customers (the same ORDER ID)?
Typically order have line items.
Can many employees place the same order/line item?
Usually you have One Employee place One order (with one or more line items) for One customer.
If you have many employees placing one order for one customer, than you usually track the employee at the line item level.
Confused?

quest4

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:33
Sense you are new at this, always use the KISS method. Don't over think things. Most relationships are one-to-many and there are a couple one-to-one relationships. Many-to-many relationships ar rare, thank god, they can be a real pain. I have not seen you tables so it is a little hard to tell you what relationship goes where, but I always try and use only what is needed, so if I need one, then i would only use one. If suck with a many-to-many relationship, prey, no try this site it has a good example:
http://www.microsoft-accesssolutions.co.uk/many_to_many_example.htm
This should give you a feel for what you would be getting into. Remember most relatinships are one-to-many. hth.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time