Please Help with Database design (1 Viewer)

w.key1980

Local time
Today, 12:10
Hello, this is my first post. I am trying to build an access database and I have got so far. But I have reached a dead end and don't know how to fix the issue. Here is the list of tables I currently have. I think I have completed the normalization process. BUT not sure.

tbl_CustomerDetails
StudentID - PK
Forname
Surname
Address
Town
Postcode
Country
Email
Daytime Number
Evening Number
DOB

tbl_CourseDetails
CourseID - PK
CourseName

tbl_CustomerResults
ResultID - PK
ResultOptions
AddedToRYA
AddedBy
FollowUpEmail

tbl_InstructorDetails
InstructorID - PK
InstructorForename
InstructorSurname

tbl_SailPassage
SailPassageID - PK
StartDate
EndDate
NoDays
AreaSailed
NightHours
DistanceInNM

The second issue is the relationships and I can't seam to work out how to do it. This is as far as i have got. By the way, i am new to access and only bee using the program a month or so. Please can anyone help / advise on this issue.

Galaxiom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Tomorrow, 05:10
Relationships are on fields that match up between the two tables.

For example, in a CustomerResults table would be expected to have a foreign key field that held the CustomerID (the PK from the Customer table) to indicate the customer whose result is being recorded. These two fields are in a relationship.

informer

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 21:10
Hi, w.key1980

For modelling correctly a db you must :

1. Build a conceptual data model (CDM). The Logical data model is generated from it by applying rules on cardinalities. And with dedicated tools, the LDM is automatically built as well as the SQL script for creating the DB (See files attached)
  2. Use dedicated tools which build CDM not only LDM like :
    1. Power*AMC (excellent but expensive)
    2. JMERISE, excellent freeware here
And of course apply at least the 3 first Normal forms (NF).

Attachments

• mcd2.jpg
    mcd2.jpg