Regarding ACCDB and ACCDE files (1 Viewer)

JoseO

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:40
Hello there! I am a beginner with Access 2007/2010 and so far I am enjoying very much what this particular DB program is capable of doing. I've been taught that when I get done developing a DB for someone else, I am to give the other party the DB with the file extension ACCDE. Here's where my confusion and frustration begin. Say the other party keeps the ACCDE file for a month and he/she enters all kinds of data. Afterwards, he/she comes to me and says, "Listen, I'd like you to modify this form and that form, this report and that report." Now, I find myself stuck with an ACCDB file that is a month outdated and needing modifications. How to resolve this issue? I hope this made sense. Thank you so very much. Jose

JoseO

Registered User.
Local time
Thank you Paul for the speedy reply! :)

Please forgive me as I am having trouble understanding the splitting of the DB. I went ahead and split my DB. Kept the BE in my Access folder on my PC and for testing purposes I placed the FE on the Desktop (simulating me giving it to another party).

I then opened the FE only to have Access yell at me by telling me that it was not able to locate the BE every time I attempted to open any forms. I then placed the FE file on the Desktop back in the same folder the BE was and I had no trouble. :banghead:

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:40