Report error when quering via year

yoritomo

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 23:11
Hi, I should point out this is my first time creating a report

I have a report that runs a query that gets data based on the entered year, it works, until you check 2005
Once you do however the report throws up an error because it cant find any data for months 11 and 12 for 2005 and says "microsoft jet database doesnt recognise " as a valid field name or expression
I was wondering is there any way to stop this from happening? so that it would just return a blank in those fields

Also, I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to put the totals of the values in another field, then the average in another

the data looks like this

code jan feb mar etc
tfrew 34 789
tyesr 567 45

I want it to get the total over the months, and to get the average of only the months with data, Ie if code tfrew didnt sell any in june, I dont want it to count june in the average

You left out a key piece of into here. It would appear you are working with a crosstab query as the basis of the report. If that's the case, what you need to do is use a Left join that will add blank records for each month.

Ah yes I am indeed, erm, how do I left join it? its just querying the data from a single table
Hmm, ok I made a left join on it anyway, by hooking in the main item table and querying using the item number, but it still throws up the same error, because the report is asking for dates for the 11th and 12th month of 2005, its not the fact there is no data for it, its seems to be those 2 months, because they dont exist yet, anyone know how to get around this?

Last edited:
You need a table of months or dates that you can join to. You then use the number 2 join of all records from this other table and matching records from your main table.

Still throwing up the same error :(