SharePoint vs Azure SQL Backend (1 Viewer)

leannemurphy

Local time
Today, 08:25
Hi everyone,

My name is Leanne. :) I am an Access developer and about 10 years ago set up one of my business databases to have a Sharepoint backend. It was surprisingly fast and effective, but I'm also aware that in 10 years lots of things change. I have also set up my current business database to have an Azure SQL backend. To be honest, the SharePoint database was a heck of a lot faster than this Azure SQL Server database. However, the SQL database is stored in Australia (??) and I'm in the UK, so that might account for the slowness? Still have to figure out how to get it moved closer...

The point of this post is to ask you what you recommend for a new set of databases I'm doing for a customer of mine. They are a small team of 8 with plans to expand to 20 people over the year. A lot of the team work remotely part of the week, so having an Access split database isn't something I can do because they don't have a network drive that they can access from home and from work. Unless there is some solution I'm not aware of that allows you to have the backend on a Dropbox/OneDrive type location that allows multiple people to access the same data without it duplicating the database?

They are an analysis business so I will be dealing with large datasets that I am analysing using Tableau for them. So I believe SharePoint already falls over in this regard as I believe it is limited to 5000 records per table? Is that still the case?

I'm going to be building multiple Access frontends to cater for different team projects, and they will all point the same backend. I'm not a SQL Server developer, but I can get by with a bit of help now and then. Speed is going to be important though, so I'm still a bit hesitant going the Azure SQL Server route due to my current experience with it.