Solved Syncronizing two related subforms (1 Viewer)

SuperSonicSam

Local time
Today, 19:17
Hi there, can anyone help me troubleshoot the following problem? I am trying to link two subforms (housed in an unbound parent form) so that when I click on the continuous subform on the LHS, the records displayed in the the RHS subform match. Please see the first attachment. So far I haven't had success, even after searching on the web and using a 'txtMasterID' workaround. Also not sure if it's relevant (I am a beginner), but the tabs in the form on the RHS aren't connected to the rest of the form in the conventional way (see second attachement). More than happy to have any advise.

Attachments

• AccessFormSideBySide1.pdf
    116.1 KB · Views: 88
  • AccessStudentDetailsMainForm.pdf
    129.1 KB · Views: 75

Josef P.

Local time
Today, 11:17
There are several options. 3 variants that I usually use:
  • You can react in the main form to the current events of the subforms and then set the other one to the same record
  • You can use the same recordset in both forms
  • If you only navigate on the left side, you can bind the right subform to the primary key data field of the left side (easiest to do with a text field in the main form).

BTW: You can also insert images directly into the post, then you don't have to open a PDF file.

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Today, 10:17
See my article which has several solutions to doing this:

mike60smart

Registered User.
Local time