This database was created with the 64-bit version of Microsoft Access. Please open it with the 64-bit version of Microsoft Access.

Lah_01

Local time
Today, 10:56
Hi everyone,

I'm an access newbie attempting to put a database in a trial environment and some users are getting the above error message when they try to open the file. I have saved it as an accde file for security.

Do I have to create a 32-bit version for them to open it and if so how would I do this?

Hi everyone,

I'm an access newbie attempting to put a database in a trial environment and some users are getting the above error message when they try to open the file. I have saved it as an accde file for security.

Do I have to create a 32-bit version for them to open it and if so how would I do this?
ACCDE databases can only be oppened with the same bitness of MS Access they were created. So 64 bit ACCDE can only be opened on computers with 64 bit Ms Access and 32 bit ACCDE can only be oppened on computers with 32 bit Ms Access.

Last edited:
Have a look at Similar threads at the bottom of this post.

Unless you really need 64bit, I would reinstall and use 32bit, especially if the rest of your people are on 32bit.
You need to calculate how many on each, and go with the majority perhaps? I believe Access defaults now to 64 bit on install.

I'm with Gasman. Unless there is a screaming need for 64-bit Office, you can install 32-bit Office and never know the difference. Both versions of Office will run cleanly in a 64-bit environment. (I've done so for about 20 years.) Having a "mixed bag" of bitness in a site that will share apps is going to be a painful process to manage.

Xavier's comment is true, but if the DB is in under trial, is it of type .ACCDE or .ACCDB? If the latter, a 64-bit version of Access should be able to run it IF it doesn't involve system API calls that might need certain address-pointer types. We would need to know more about the environment to know how best to proceed in that case.