Weekly crosstab from daily crosstab! (1 Viewer)

BEPGroup

Local time
Today, 15:16
I've created a crosstab that returns the following:

Row header: Dates (eg 1/5/13, 2/5/13, 8/5/13) - dd/mm/yy
Column headings: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Values: different text strings (eg, / \ O B etc)

At the moment the crosstab returns one record for each date. I want to present the data as one record (or line) for each week starting with the date for the Monday of that week.

Hope this makes sense! Any suggestions?

Thanks

PNGBill

Win10 Office Pro 2016
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:16
You could add Calculated Fields to your data (query) that uses WeekNumber
This additionl field should allow grouping in your Crosstab.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:16
Try posting the SQL so we can figure out what is wrong.

BEPGroup

Local time
I'm very new to access and still at the dangerous stage, thinking I know more than I actually do! The data is actually attendance data from a daily (weekday) register. Week one actually starts on Monday 3rd September 2012 as the year is an academic year, school holidays aren't counted as weeks and week 39 (the last week in a school year) is towards the end of July in the following calender year (2013). Having read some similar posts I think the solution is to build a lookup table of dates with a corresponding week number, by which I can group in the crosstab. I didn't know about "ww" returning a week number but that will be useful in the future I suspect!

BEPGroup

Local time
I wanted to avoid having to create a lookup table each year but I can't see another way!

PNGBill

Win10 Office Pro 2016
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:16
I wanted to avoid having to create a lookup table each year but I can't see another way!
Maybe you could have a table of significant dates. eg Term start and finish dates. Public holidays etc.
this may allow your code to refer to this table when dealing with a given year.