Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Reports

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2019, 05:23 AM   #1
Uncle Ned
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Uncle Ned is on a distinguished road
Problem with Barcode Font in Report

I'm working on a production monitoring database that at one particluar stage a label is printed using an MS Access Report. In the label I have the Primary Key for the item in barcode format Code128.


On my computer I have two Code 128 fonts, if I choose one of them I get a label with a perfectly readable barcode, but if I chose the other it's unreadable (see attached image). So I use the readable font and finsih the database, everything works well and label have a readable barcode.


When I went to set the database up on the computer that is supposed to print the label, I can't find the Code128 font that works on my computer.



I've searched the fonts folder on my computer, but it's not there.
I've read elsewhere that there is another fonts folder in C:/Programfiles/WindowsApps, however, when I try to enter that folder it tells my I don't have read rights for the folder, even though I do.


I've searched for two days for a working downloadable Code128 font, there is no problem finding the one that doesn't work.


Anyone able to advise on this?


Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg barcode screen shot.jpg (92.7 KB, 15 views)

Uncle Ned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 05:26 AM   #2
isladogs
High Noon Moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11,382
Thanks: 115
Thanked 3,114 Times in 2,831 Posts
isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold
Re: Problem with Barcode Font in Report

Never used that font.
However, I use a Code 39 barcode font without problems.
Its freely available online https://www.barcodesinc.com/free-barcode-font/
Also see https://www.idautomation.com/barcode...tegration.html
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Common sense and a sense of humour are the same thing, moving at different speeds. (Clive James - RIP)
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 05:45 AM   #3
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,569
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,630 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Problem with Barcode Font in Report

did you search c:\windows\fonts folder for your font?

__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 05:46 AM   #4
AccessBlaster
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,246
Thanks: 29
Thanked 285 Times in 271 Posts
AccessBlaster has a spectacular aura about AccessBlaster has a spectacular aura about
Re: Problem with Barcode Font in Report

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Ned View Post

When I went to set the database up on the computer that is supposed to print the label, I can't find the Code128 font that works on my computer.
You looked in C:\Windows\Fonts in the working computer and did not find the working font?

Or you installed the font on the new computer and you still can not find it?

Just re-download the font from the internet on the target machine, or am I missing something.
AccessBlaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 05:51 AM   #5
Uncle Ned
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Uncle Ned is on a distinguished road
Re: Problem with Barcode Font in Report

Quote:
Originally Posted by AccessBlaster View Post
You looked in C:\Windows\Fonts in the working computer and did not find the working font?

Or you installed the font on the new computer and you still can not find it?

Just re-download the font from the internet on the target machine, or am I missing something.

Even though the font is available on my computer, when I look in the C:\Windows\Fonts folder it's not present. Apparently in Windows 10 there is a second restricted folder that I wasn't able to search.


I thought that I could just find the working one on the internet and download it as well, I've searched for hours now and can't find where I got it from in the first place (well over a year since I found it).
Uncle Ned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 05:52 AM   #6
Uncle Ned
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Uncle Ned is on a distinguished road
Re: Problem with Barcode Font in Report

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnelgp View Post
did you search c:\windows\fonts folder for your font?

Yes I did, that was my first thought - I reckoned it would be easy to just copy the font from one machine to the other.


No dice
Uncle Ned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 05:52 AM   #7
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,569
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,630 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Problem with Barcode Font in Report

try downloading Everything.exe, it will search all your files.

__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 05:53 AM   #8
Uncle Ned
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Uncle Ned is on a distinguished road
Re: Problem with Barcode Font in Report

Quote:
Originally Posted by isladogs View Post
Never used that font.
However, I use a Code 39 barcode font without problems.
Its freely available online https://www.barcodesinc.com/free-barcode-font/
Also see https://www.idautomation.com/barcode...tegration.html

I had already tried Code39 and can't get it to work at all. I've followed the link that you suggested and what is recommended their doesn't work either
Uncle Ned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 06:14 AM   #9
Uncle Ned
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Uncle Ned is on a distinguished road
Re: Problem with Barcode Font in Report

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnelgp View Post
try downloading Everything.exe, it will search all your files.

That's a useful tool. However, it is only brining up the barcode fonts that are in the Windows/Fonts folder. I did find plenty of fonts in the WindowsApps folder, but no barcode fonts.


I'm wondering if there is some kind of an add-on or encoder that I may have inadvertantly loaded onto my computer
Uncle Ned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 04:31 AM   #10
Uncle Ned
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Uncle Ned is on a distinguished road
Re: Problem with Barcode Font in Report

Hi Everyone,


I finally found a solution, there were a combination of a number of factors to overcome before finally getting it over the line.


1. Instead of using Code128, I downloaded one of the many free Code39 (or 3 of 9, depending on the font) that were available online and swiched to it.


2. Code39 requires * at the start and end of the data, so I added On Load VBA for the report,



example; Me.txtBarCode = "*" & Me.txtPrimaryKey & "*"


3. I discovered that if the data held a single digit primary key, i.e. 1 to 9, that the barcode scanner could not read the label. However, any primary key that was 10 or higher and there was no problem reading it.


4. Font size: If the bar code font size was set to 18 or lower, then the scanner couldn't pick it up. If I set the size then I could read it if I moved the scanner in/out a bit. Once the font size was set to 28 or higher, there were no issues reading the barcode at all.


I hope that this information is useful to others encountering similar problems

Uncle Ned is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Barcode Font andymac Reports 4 06-09-2013 06:11 AM
barcode font deadfish Reports 16 12-06-2010 02:43 PM
2d Datametrix barcode font vgersghost Forms 1 04-23-2007 08:27 PM
Barcode font with Mail Merge travismp Queries 4 07-13-2006 07:40 AM
Barcode Font Problem diversoln Reports 2 05-27-2004 08:02 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World