Christmas Decorations (2 Viewers)

nikkypickles

Total Novice
Local time
Today, 11:34
Before I get jumped on by the Moderators, this is going to be a political thread, honest.

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/05122006/140/xmas-ban-firms-scared-tinsel.html

While I can understand calling them "Christmas" decorations may cause some problems, preventing any "Festive" decorations is just an example of political correctness gone too far.

There was also a news story (now unable to locate) of a small village attempting to hold a Festive Holiday Party in council buildings, only to be prevented by the mountains of red tape - risk assessments for mince pies, Santa needing a complete Criminal Records Bureau clearance, no xmas tree (too dangerous) and full health and safety checks on all decorations. For a private party!

Our increasing fear of litigation (sorry J and accompanied US-citizens, this one came from your side of the pond) has meant that soon we will need a full risk assessment, signed in triplicate before leaving our front doors.

An additional bit of worry for me is the Good Samaritan rule for First Aiders. God help me should I go to the US. In this country, I am protected by the ruling that I am acting as a Good Samaritan should I choose to provide First Aid. Key word there is choose. There is discussion among these circles that in the US you can be sued if you are a First Aider and don't provide help, and you can be sued if you provide First Aid and things don't get better.

Any more litigation that's frightening the world we live in?

ColinEssex

Old registered user
Local time
nikkypickles said:
Before I get jumped on by the Moderators,
there's only one who may inflict strange morals on threads and be selective about who is chastised.

While I can understand calling them "Christmas" decorations may cause some problems,
it is confusing Nikky, it is after all a festival which has nothing to do with religion.